Honeymoon Vol. 9 – Okumura Chiharu

Honeymoon9

Honeymoon Vol. 9 – Okumura Chiharu

CV: Ishida Akira

Okumura Chiharu is a high school World History teacher. For your honeymoon, you’re headed to Turkey.

FOREWORD: This drama CD was a challenge for me because of the many historical facts involved. My vocabulary is not wide enough for this lol. I think I made a lot of mistakes with this one 😦 

[Track 1]

Prologue

So, for today’s lesson, please turn to page 78. We’re going to talk about the French Revolution.

The French Revolution occurred during 1789 – 1799, due to the upheaval of the commoners in society. During this revolution…

And so, because of Napoleon’s coup de etat on 1799, the revolution came to a close.

(the bell rings)

That’s it for today. On our next class we’ll be having a quiz, so be sure to review your lesson.

Do you have a question about our lesson today? You’re always studying so diligently. Do you really like world history that much?

Eh? You’re not going to ask about the lesson, but about me?

Now see here, you should stop wasting an adult’s time.

You’re serious about this…

I’m sorry, but I can’t return your feelings.

You’re only a seventeen year old student. I’m a teacher! You know that this isn’t acceptable, right?

No matter how persistent you are, my feelings will remain the same. I’m sorry. Bye.

(Graduation)

Oh it’s you. Congratulations on graduating. Are you here to say goodbye?

You’re…confessing to me?

I wonder how many times you’ve confessed to me up until this point.

I give up. You’re way too persistent.

To be honest, since you’ve always been telling me how much you like me, I think I’ve slowly come to like you as well. But since I had to think of our positions as student and teacher, I had to keep rejecting your feelings. It was painful, seeing your sad face.

But today, we’ve also graduated from our relationship as student and teacher. I don’t think we have a problem with that anymore.

Yes, I know. From now on, you are my girlfriend.

Let’s start over. I’d like to say something. I like you. I want you to go out with me.

Right after this, we should have our own graduation party. I’ll give you a special present in my room.

 

[Track 2]

The Proposal

Thanks for waiting. The food is done.

Today’s menu is crab fried rice, pepper steak, sesame chicken, and almond jelly.

Well, let’s eat then. Bon apetit!

How is it? Is it good?

Really, that’s great! Since I’ve lived by myself for a long time, I’m pretty confident in my cooking skills. Also, I’ve always liked hearing you say “It’s delicious!” after eating the food I cooked, so I worked really hard on my cooking these past years.

You want me as your bride? Haha, that’s kind of impossible, isn’t it? Because I want you to be my bride.

Well, I’ve been thinking about it for a while now. Haven’t you?

Don’t worry about anything! I’ll make sure to supervise your housewife training. When we get married you’ll be a wife who’s super good at cooking.

So don’t worry about anything, and be my wife.

Great.  ( ˘ ³˘)♥ If you do well in your bride training, I’ll reward you with lots of kisses.

 

[Track 3]

Honeymoon Plan

The fitting for your wedding dress is next week Sunday, right? I think you’ll enjoy picking out your wedding dress. Well, whatever you choose I’m sure it will look good on you. We’ve also reserved the wedding ceremony hall. I guess the only thing left to do is write out the invitations.

Oh yeah, we still haven’t decided on where to spend our honeymoon.

I think you should decide where we should go on our honeymoon. Where do you want to go?

Turkey? Eh, that’s unexpected. Why do you want to go to Turkey?

You got interested because of my lessons? That makes me happy. I really like Turkey’s history, so I was really fired up when I was teaching about it.

I’m happy you became so interested.

I’ve always wanted to go there too, so should we go to Turkey for our honeymoon?

Well then, before we go on our trip, should we do a bit of a review on Turkey?

Don’t make that disgusted face. If you don’t know even a little bit about the place we’re visiting, it’ll be a lot of trouble when we’re travelling. For instance, do you know what currency they use in Turkey?

Correct. Since Turkey isn’t part of the EU, they don’t use euros. The correct answer is Turkish lira.

Hey, if we don’t study even just a bit, we’ll be in trouble.

I’m glad that you knew the answer. Well then, let’s begin reviewing our lessons on Turkey. Make sure to listen properly.

I wonder how many years have passed since I last taught in front of you like this. 

Turkey is more properly known as the Republic of Turkey. The population is around 70 million. The main language that they use is Turkish. You can find Anatolia in the east of Turkey, while the Balkan peninsula can be found in the east. When you think of Turkey, most people tend to associate the country with European themes, however, 95 percent of its citizens are Asian. Also…

And that’s it. We’re done with our lesson on. Turkey. (clapping)

You’re welcome. Now that we’ve studied about Turkey, I bet you’ve mastered the lesson.

I’m really looking forward to it — our honeymoon.  ( ˘ ³˘)♥. Well then, I think it’s time we move on to a different lesson.  ( ˘ ³˘)♥ ( ˘ ³˘)♥ ( ˘ ³˘)♥

 

[Track 4]

Day 1 – Istanbul, Blue Mosque

This is Istanbul’s famous Blue Mosque. You’ve hear about this place too, right?

I see. Other than its name, you don’t know anything else about it, huh.

Most people know it as the Blue Mosque, but its official name is the Sultan Ahmed Mosque. It was built by the Sultan Ahmed I, the fourteenth sultan of the Ottoman Empire.

By the way, do you know what kind of place a mosque is?

A mosque is a place of worship for those who practice Islam. Look, someone’s praying over there.

There are minarets surrounding the mosque. Usually, no matter how big the mosque is, there will only be four minarets surrounding it. But this Blue Mosque is the only one in the world that has six minarets.

The height and number of minarets are also a political symbol. That’s why the more minarets a mosque has, the more powerful it is. But there’s also a theory that the architect confused the word altın, which means “gold” for altı, meaning “six”.

Studying history this way makes sightseeing more fun, right? You’ll think, “so this is how the past was like!” and stuff. I’ll tell you a lot lot more about history during our trip. Of course, you’ll learn about me too.

 

[Track 5]

Day 2 – Turkish Cuisine

We walked a lot today, you must be hungry by now aren’t you?

This restaurant is famous in Istanbul for its Turkish cuisine. The locals say the food is really delicious. 

Turkish cuisine is really different from Japanese cuisine; however, it’s known as one of the three grand cuisines of the world. Well then, I wonder what we should order?

Oh, looks like the menu’s only written in Turkish. Now let’s see…

There’s shish kebab– that’s meat in skewers. It’s a really popular meal. I studied Turkish when I was a student, so I can read a bit of Turkish.

Understood. Then, leave it to me! I’ll order a lot of yummy food!

Our orders are all here. Let’s eat! Bon apetit!  

Mmm, this börek is really good.

The dolma is also delicious!

Are you liking Turkey so far? Well then, why don’t we have a little Turkey quiz?

It’s alright. Its easy if you studied your lessons.

Okay, if you get it right, I’ll give you a special prize.

So here’s the question: what is Turkey’s capital city?

Istanbul? Boo. That’s incorrect! The correct answer is Ankara. Hmm, looks like you haven’t been paying attention to my lessons. 

For such a serious student, I need to seriously punish you!

When we get back to our hotel room, I’ll be sure to punish you really well ( ˘ ³˘)♥

 

[Track 6]

Day 3 – The Ruins of Troy

This is the place where the Trojan War was said to have occurred: the ruins of Troy.

You’ve heard about the Trojan Horse, haven’t you?

This huge wooden horse right in front of you is a replica of the Trojan Horse. The Trojan Horse was written about in The Iliad, which details stories of Greek mythology. 

“Why did the Trojan War begin?” Well, in Troy there was a prince named Paris. Because of Zeus’s daughters, he stole the princess Helen from her husband Menelaus. In order to take revenge for the kidnapping of his wife, Menelaus decided to take over Troy. Thus, the Trojan war began. This war lasted for 10 years, but because of the Trojan Horse, the Trojans were defeated, and the war ended.

The plan of the Greeks was: first, they withdrew their men from Troy, then they offered a giant wooden horse as a symbol of the Trojans’ victory. It was as if they were showing the Trojans that they had given up. But the truth was, the Greeks were hiding inside the wooden horse. The Trojans, believing that they had won, brought the wooden horse inside the castle grounds. So while the Trojans were asleep, the Greeks got out of the wooden horse and invaded the castle. The Trojans were defeated. 

However, since the Trojan War is only a legend, there’s no proof that this really is Troy. 

Since a lot of treasures have been taken from these ruins, it’s difficult to believe that this is really Troy. Those treasures may not be proof of the Trojan War; rather, they could be relics from thousands of years before.

This may or may not be Troy, we might be completely mistaken. There still isn’t any evidence to prove that. While it’s not wrong to think about the possibility of it being real, it’s difficult to assume things. 

But I believe it, that this place is actually Troy. Kind of romantic, isn’t it?

Well then, I discussed all about the Trojan War, are you knowledgeable enough now?

I see. Then if you say it’s perfect, you’ll be able to answer any question I throw at you, right? 

It’s alright. The answer was in today’s discussion. If you get it right I’ll give you a prize.

Here’s the question: what is the reason for the beginning of the Trojan War? 

Correct! You did well.

You know, if someone else took you away from me too, I don’t know what I’d do to get you back. But anyway! I promised I’d give you a reward, right? Here, a kiss as a reward. ( ˘ ³˘)♥ What’s wrong? Why are you so red? Oh, was that embarrassing. Hehe, I can’t help it, I’ll do it again. ( ˘ ³˘)♥

 

[Track 7]

Day 4 – Ephesus, the Ancient City

This is the ancient city, Ephesus. The Ionians built this city around 11 BC. The preservation of the city is really excellent, so you can see where buildings originally stood. For example, this large building that you see in front of you used to be a library. It’s one of the three grand libraries of the world and is said to have housed around 10,000 scrolls. Then, the theater that you see over there can hold at least 25,000 people, and it’s also currently being used for concerts and such. You can also see one of the seven wonders of the world, the Temple of Artemis. You can also find a public bathhouse and toilet.

And right now, this Arcadian Street where we’re strolling is the street where Cleopatra was rumored to to walk with her lover Antonius. 

Hmm, that foreign lady is looking over here. I wonder if she needs help or something.

You can speak Japanese, right? Do you need anything from us? You want me to go sight-seeing with you? I’m sorry, but I can’t do that.

Tell you my phone number? Uh, that’s also… The thing is, you see, I have a wife. Yes, this lady right here is my wife. You thought we were siblings? Well, I think I can see where you’re coming from…

I didn’t think somebody was going to try and hit on me in a place like this. Hmm? What’s wrong? You’re making an ugly face. Are you that shocked that we were mistaken for siblings? Well then, put your arm through mine, and we definitely won’t be thought of as siblings. (laughs) Hey, don’t act embarrassed. ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

 

[Track 8]

Day 5 – Hamam (Turkish steambath)

This is a hamam, the Turkish version of a public bath. In Islam, keeping your body clean is essential; that’s why hamams are so important. 

I called it a bath house, but it’s really different from a Japanese bath house. 

Yes, there are no bath tubs here. Rather than tubs, hamams have steam saunas. Then, let’s go over that sauna.

It’s warm, isn’t it? First we’ll sweat it out here. Once we’ve perspired enough, someone with a scrub called kese will come over and massage you, but.. There are only male assistants in this hamam. I knew that you’d be uncomfortable having a stranger touching your body. Also, I don’t want any other man touching you. That’s why, I’ll be the one massaging you.

How’s that? Does it feel good? Great. Then, let’s rinse you off.

What’s wrong? You suddenly yelped. Did it feel that good?

That’s no good, I have to clean every part of you! 

(laugh) Are you starting to feel strange? How cute. But be careful. If you let out such a cute voice in a place like this, other men could hear you. I’m the only one who gets to hear that cute voice. Let’s continue this in our room, okay?

 

[Track 9]

Day 6 – Hot Air Balloon in Cappadocia

Wow, there are a lot of hot air balloons flying up! They’re so colorful and pretty! But are you sure you want to ride a hot air balloon? Aren’t you scared of heights? I see, I guess since we’ve come all the way here we should take a ride. But I wasn’t really aware that you were that scared of flying.

The balloon we’ll be riding on is the one under that banner. Looks like it’s going to take a short while before we can get on.

This is my first time riding a hot air balloon. 

Ah. Looks like the flight preparations are done. Shall we go?

The hot air balloon’s slowly rising. We’re going on a journey in the sky!

Look! It’s Cappadocia’s scenery! You don’t look like you’re having fun. Are you scared? You’ll be OK, I’m right here with you. Can’t be help. Come closer to me. It doesn’t look that scary when I’m hugging you like this, right? Man. You’re pretty clingy. ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

Ah, look down below. There are a lot of rocks shaped like mushrooms. These rocks are called “fairy chimneys”, and are made by nature. Throughout a long period of time, the soft part of these rocks got withered away by wind and rain, leaving the top part unchanged. That’s why they became mushroom-shaped. 

Ah, now we can see the Rose Valley! The rocks are pink, aren’t they? Such a mysterious sort of beauty.

I’m really glad I came here with you. In a place I love, with the person I love, and seeing such a beautiful scenery… I’ll never forget this scenery I’m seeing with you. From now on, we’ll make more beautiful memories together. ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

 

[Track 10]

The Night of Day 6 – Cappadocia’s Cave Hotel

This is a cave hotel, created from renovated caves. Looks beautiful, right? The truth is, I reserved a room for us at this hotel. 

Looks like my surprise was successful. Well, let’s go to our room.

This is the room we’ll be staying in. I wanted to make you happy so I chose their nicest room. 

Ah, you’re so happy that you’re embracing me, it also makes me happy. But if you do something like this, you’re aware that a man will start to feel different right? ( ˘ ³˘)♥  ( ˘ ³˘)♥ ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

Did you understand with that kiss? How cute. Then, I wonder what would happen if I do something more…

I’m touching you while you’re still clothed and yet… You’re really sensitive. Sensei didn’t know you were this much of a pervert. You don’t have to apologize. I like that part of you as well. This time I’ll touch you without your clothes in the way. 

I love you. I want you. ( ˘ ³˘)♥  ( ˘ ³˘)♥  ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

 

[Track 11]
After the Honeymoon

I’m home!

You said in your message that you have something important to tell me. What happened?

You went to the hospital? Are you feeling unwell?

You’re not? Could it be… Are you pregnant?

YES! We’re having a baby!

If you’re 3 months along, that means it’s a honeymoon baby, right?

Aaahhh, thank you! I’m so happy!

I see, our baby’s inside here, huh…

Please grow well inside Mama, and be born in good health. Papa’s looking forward to seeing you.

From now on we’ll be a family of three. I’m sure we’re going to be the happiest family in the world. ( ˘ ³˘)♥ 

 

FREE TALK! 

I’ll just translate the first part cause it’s pretty funny:

This is the person who is grateful that you listened [to this CD], Ishida Akira who plays Okumura Chiharu. As for my impressions after recording this CD… hm, I guess it’s that Okumura-sensei is probably a person who doesn’t have a lot of worries. Why did I think that? Well, it’s because he moves too fast! It’s like, right after graduation, saying things like “You’re not my student anymore– we’re not student and teacher anymore, let’s go out!” stuff like that is OK, sensei is a man after all. But to say “You’ve graduated! Let’s have a special party in my room”– aren’t you moving too fast?! That’s how I felt. If I was the protagonist’s father, I’d be like “Don’t mess around you idiot!” and be very angry at sensei.

I’m thinking the same thing Ishida-san!!!

 

NOTES!

ああ, 出来た OTL. This one is super rough because it was really a challenge. I had to look up a lot of words in the dictionary for this (and I don’t even remember the words I looked up!). So as usual, feel free to message for corrections! Also I got so pissed off because I translated tracks 7 to 10 in one night and the next day when I was about to edit the entire thing, the translations for the 4 tracks were gone!!! Ugh. So yeah. 

(For Track 5) Apparently the three grand cuisines of the world are French, Turkish, and Chinese (though this is up for debate). Borek is a pastry dish filled with cheese, minced meat, or vegetables. Dolma is stuffed grape leaves.

(For Track 6) If you’re not familiar with the Judgement of Paris, the premise is that: Peleus and Thetis had a grand wedding and invited all the major gods and goddesses, except for the goddess of discord, Eris. To bring chaos to the party, she threw a golden apple in the middle of the crowd marked “for the fairest”. Three goddesses ended up fighting over the right to the apple (Hera, Athena, and Aphrodite). They asked Zeus to judge the rightful owner of the apple, but he delegated that task to a human prince named Paris. So the three goddesses decided to bribe Paris with different gifts: Helen offered to make him king of Europe and Asia, Athena offered wisdom and battle strategy, and Aphrodite offered the most beautiful woman in the world (aka Helen of Troy). Paris chose Aphrodite and effectively launched a war that lasted ten years. The moral lesson of this story is that Paris is an idiot and gods and goddesses are immature, the end. 

(For Track 8) As for the hamam attendants, I am at a bit of a loss here. In the drama CD he says “keseji” to refer to the attendants, but in my Internet searches I’ve never actually seen hamam attendants being called a specific term. Huhuhu. If someone can step in and tell me what the attendants are called, that’d be great.

 

Thanks so much for reading! Did you enjoy your honeymoon with Okumura-sensei? 😀

About Jinny

novice translator, hikkikomori in the making, cat and owl lover, coffee-dependent
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honeymoon Vol. 9 – Okumura Chiharu

  1. Eren says:

    Hamam attendants are called ”tellak” not keseji 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hyura Lee says:

    Thank you so much for the translations! Okumura-sensei is soooo adorable, but I agree with Ishida-san & your opinion, that he moves too fast (・_・). Not to mention that the protagonist is his former student, being a teacher myself, I can’t imagine being freely in relationship with one of my students lol (‾^‾). But, overall I enjoyed my honeymoon with Okumura-sensei, even our lovey-dovey session is disturbed by some ‘unnecessary’ history quizzes lol x’D Well, I don’t mind the present though lol (♥ε♥)
    Anyway, Ishida’s voice is really a heaven~ I’m still in dreamy mood after listening to this drama cd lol (///▽///)
    I’m glad I found your blog~! Thanks for your hard work! \(´▽`)/\(´▽`)/\(´▽`)/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jinny says:

      Thanks so much! This reply is so late lol!

      Same here, I was a bit miffed at how fast the teacher moved lol but sometimes you have to suspend reality to enjoy drama CDs XD

      I’m glad you enjoyed the translation!

      Like

Leave a comment